Who Gave Law Of Octaves Mcq?


In the year 1866, an English scientist, John Newlands arranged the elements in the order of increasing atomic masses. … He noticed that every eighth element exhibits similar properties as compared to the first element. He called this law as the ‘Law of Octaves’ better known as ‘Newland’s Law of Octaves’.

What did John Newlands?

He arranged the known elements in order of increasing atomic weight, and found that elements with similar properties occurred at regular intervals. He divided the elements into seven groups of eight, in what he later called the ‘law of octaves’.

What is the new land law of octaves?

The law of octaves states that every eighth element has similar properties when the elements are arranged in the increasing order of their atomic masses. … Newlands compared the similarity between the elements to the octaves of music, where every eighth note is comparable to the first.

Why did the law of octaves not work?

The law failed because of the following reasons: 1 The law was applicable only upto calcium. It could not include the other elements beyond calcium. ii With the discovery of rare gases it was the ninth element and not the eighth element having similar chemical properties. State Newlands’ law of octaves.

What was the drawback of law of octaves?

The drawbacks of Newlands Law of Octaves are as following: Out of the total 56 known elements, Newland could arrange elements only up to calcium. Every eighth element did not show properties similar to that of the first after calcium.

Why does the third period contain 8 elements but not 18?

According to the 2n2 rule, the maximum number of electrons in the third period = 2 x (3)2 = 18. But, the last shell cannot accommodate more than 8 electrons so, the number of electrons in third period is 8. Hence, the number of elements is also 8.

What is the law of octave?

Law of octaves, in chemistry, the generalization made by the English chemist J.A.R. Newlands in 1865 that, if the chemical elements are arranged according to increasing atomic weight, those with similar physical and chemical properties occur after each interval of seven elements.

Why was Newlands not accepted?

One of the reasons Newland’s table was not accepted was that he had many more dissimilar elements in a column whereas Mendeleev left gaps for undiscovered elements. Mendeleev also predicted the properties of missing elements, which were later discovered, fitting the gaps and matching the predicted properties.

Which is the last element to follow the law of octaves?

Only 56 elements were known till the time of Newlands. The last element known was thorium with atomic mass 232. Newlands’ law of octave was applicable only up to calcium with atomic mass 40.1.

Which element of law of octaves was applicable?

> Hence, The Newland’s law of octaves for the classification of elements was found to be applicable only up to calcium.

What is dobereiner triad law?

Dobereiner law of triads states that the average of the atomic masses of the first and third element in a triad will be roughly equal to the atomic mass of the second element in that triad. He suggested that this law can be extended for other properties of elements like density.


Which obeys the law of triads?

By the definition of law, the atomic weight of bromine, must be approximately equal to the average of atomic masses of chlorine and iodine. This value is approximately equal to atomic mass of bromine which has the value 79.9. Hence these groups obey the law of triads.

Who introduced triads?

triad: In 1829, a German chemist, Johann Dobereiner (1780-1849), placed various groups of three elements into groups called triads.

What was the limitations of dobereiner’s classification?

Some of the limitations of Dobereiner’s classification were, Dobereiner could find only three triads; . i.e total of 9 elements only. The law was not holding good for elements having very high mass or very low mass. Not all groups obeyed the Law of Triads.

What is law of octaves explain with an example?

According to Newlands’ law of octaves, when elements are arranged in increasing order of their atomic masses, the properties of the eighth element are a repetition of the properties of the first element. … Each horizontal row had 7 elements. For example, let us take a row from Newlands’ classification of elements.

Why is 3rd shell 8 or 18?

Each shell can contain only a fixed number of electrons, up to two electrons can hold the first shell, up to eight (2 + 6) electrons can hold the second shell, up to 18 (2 + 6 + 10) can hold the third shell and so on. …

Why does period 4 have 18 elements?

The third period is similar to the second, filling the 3s and 3p sublevels. Notice that the 3 d sublevel does not actually fill until after the 4s sublevel. This results in the fourth period containing 18 elements due to the additional 10 electrons that are contributed by the d sublevel.

How many elements does period 4 have?

Period 1 has only two elements (hydrogen and helium), while periods 2 and 3 have 8 elements. Periods 4 and 5 have 18 elements.

What are the merits and demerits of Newlands octaves?

(i) This classification worked well for lighter elements only up to Ca. (ii) This classification gave us a relation between the properties of the elements and their atomic masses. (iii) It was shown by this classification for the first time that there exists a periodicity in the properties of the elements.

What does Mendeleev’s periodic law state?

-Mendeleev’s periodic law states that the properties of the elements are a periodic function of their atomic masses. … -Therefore Mendeleev’s periodic law states that the properties of elements are a periodic function of their atomic masses.

Who developed the law of octaves Why is it problematic?

John Newlands put forward his law of octaves in 1864 in which he arranged all the elements known at the time into a table in order of relative atomic mass. When he did this, he found that each element was similar to the element eight places further on.

What are the 4 types of triads?

If triads are formed on the basis of the major, harmonic minor, and melodic minor scales, then these triads will be of four types: major, minor, augmented, and diminished. (You can read more about augmented and diminished triads in the Sonic Glossary entry Third.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.